PDA

View Full Version : HUNTER SAFTEY SYSTEMS

treestandtimmy
09-07-2006, 07:19 PM
I'm from the old school of hunting in treestands, and haven't strapped myself into a tree in my life. I know it's not safe, but I think I would feel restricted. BUT, now that I'm a Dad and have other people to be responsible for, I think I should reconsider my stuborness. What do all of your guys and gals use, and what would you recomend?
Thanks for the input in advance.

09-07-2006, 09:24 PM
I'm no expert but I've been around tree stands, mountaineering, fire service tactical rescue and workplace safety harnesses all my adult life.......

To climb a tree as long as you have without a harness is pushing the limit Big Time. Don't do it even one more time. A fall of 8 feet is enough to kill........

Just think how much fun it's going to be taking your kid hunting with you being confined to a wheel chair and sucking your trail mix through a straw..............or dead. Get strapped in AND USE A CLIMBING ROPE! I'll post pics if you don't know what a climbing rope is.

THE absolute worst thing you could use besides nothing at all is the plain old nylon "waist belt" that ties to the tree. That's the one you wear around your waist and either has a rope or another belt that "attaches' you to the tree. IF you fall with this, it will ride up into your armpits and render you unable to set yourself free and quite possibly choke you dead with mechanical asphyxiation. Placing a car on your chest does the same thing.

The only thing that really works is a full harness that attaches to the tree via a strap in the middle of your shoulder blades. A full harness also has leg bands that allow the whole system to craddle you should you fall. There's lottsa good ones on the market and they are even being sold with tree stands like Summit ect. I've a good one that I can give you should you be interested, never used, came with a new stand last year. Still in the bag.