PDA

View Full Version : fall walleyes with live bait

rookie
09-30-2006, 01:11 PM
i fish mostly kinzu or the tailwaters for walleyes in the fall. whats my best live bait to use? crawlers do not seem to work. i have heard suckers are good. those erie shiners people tell me they are good. i never caught nothing with those golden shiners. which is best. how do i hook them by the tail or in the back. should i use a bobber. i love to fish around kinzu but i seem to not catch a lot of fish. everybody says this is the best time to fish it. any help would be good.thankyou. i am a rookie fishermen and need help.

Grizzly Gary
10-01-2006, 07:25 PM
Once the Emarald Shiners come out they are my fall go to bait. I lip hook them. Use them on the Zoo and in the tailwaters. On the Zoo ya jig'em. At the tailwaters I drift them thru the current. Come November and December I let that shiner drift down till it hangs up. Which might only be 3 ft. from sure. When it starts to get dark you'll get eyes. Good luck Rookie. Some nice hawg eyes come out of the tailwaters at this time of year.

Grizzly Gary

Bryan Hoffner
10-02-2006, 06:50 AM
rookie, gary gave some good ideas there and here's a few more.
On the zoo look at the bends in the river channel up north, the fish will stack there.
further south look to the steep points and sharp breaks for the fish.
Jigging is the way to go whether it's with a jig head or blade bait. Everyone will will tell you vertical is the way to go but don't be affraid to pitch and drag. We've nabbed numerous nice fish doing so.
last but not least on the ZOO, stay outa my spots!!
just kidding, you can fishem if ya clean out the whities for me.
Oh and shiners are my fav there but any crick bait will work. We've had years that the common crick chub and suckers have out fished shiners 2 to 1 or maybe even a bit more.