PDA

View Full Version : Fall walleyes

GRIZZ
11-06-2006, 04:22 AM
I've been fishing Chautauqua for about 35 yrs. Here is an example of this years fall walleyes. They range from 23-28 inches. The 28 incher was about 9 lbs.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v133/Birdsongrm/Firstfall06Chautauquawalleyes.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v133/Birdsongrm/Feet-n-Fish.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v133/Birdsongrm/Walleyes-11-05-06.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v133/Birdsongrm/11-05-06.jpg

Had a banner night tonight. 40 degrees, clear sky, full moon, lake was like glass. Stopped by the lake at dusk and took 5 casts and caught the middle fish in the pic below and left it on a stringer at the lake. I came back at midnight and caught 3 between 12 midnight and 1 am. Between 1 and 2:30 am I caught a walleye or got a hit on almost every cast then it slowed down till I left at about 3:15 am. All together I got 15-16 fish at every lenth between 23-28 inches. The 3 largest including the one I caught at dusk are in the pic. The 28 incher weighed 9.5 lb on my little cheap hand scale. Thats the one closest to my pole in the pic. I need to test that scale to see how accurate it is because most 28's I get are in the 8lb range. The middle one was just under 27 inches weighed at 8.5 and the smallest one was a bit over 26 inches and was between 7-8lbs. I live for nights like that in the fall. These fish are so thick, especially that football in the middle.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v133/Birdsongrm/Walleyes-11-06-06.jpg

Grizzly Gary
11-06-2006, 08:33 AM
Welcome aboard Grizz!! Beautiful fish & great job! Thanks for the pics and the report. Getting lots of good reports from Chautauqua.

Grizzly Gary

treestandtimmy
11-06-2006, 02:46 PM
Welcome aboard Grizz, great Chautauqua lake eyes

carl milks
11-06-2006, 08:17 PM
Good job Grizz!!!! Mighty fine looking fish!!!

Gilligan
11-07-2006, 04:58 PM