PDA

View Full Version : Shooting Tips

DeerPredator
09-15-2008, 08:06 PM
I am new to the art of bow hunting. I have been at it for about 4 months now with a Martin Wildcat, and I am absolutely addicted to shooting it almost every day. I always have a pile of fun shooting at my block target and Blueridge 3-D buck.

So far in that time, I have managed to wear out a string, the vitals in my buck I got just one month ago, and put a serious hurt on my block target. I started out practicing at just 20 yards, and now usually shoot from 35-40, with pretty consistent accuracy. I realize I might not ever need to shoot that far in the deer woods, but it is still fun shooting from that distance, at least for me.

My question is if anyone has any good tips to help me become a better shot? I would like to read, ask, learn, and practice as much as I can before the season starts here in central PA on October 4.

Any constructive input on the subject would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance, and shoot straight!

Bambi
09-15-2008, 08:16 PM
Great topic, I am always looking for tips too.. I have 3 of the 3d deer targets that I have set up in my lawn and I try and never shoot from the same spot (on the lawn). I walk out to a spot on my lawn and shoot one arrow at each target, then collect the arrows from my targets and go shoot from another spot. I have the targets staggered so they are at different ranges also.

mikeymjr23
09-15-2008, 09:00 PM
Some things I have always been told are to put yourself in as much of a real-life scenario as possible:
- Wear to shoot what you will wear to hunt (you would be surprised the difference it makes to have a long sleeved camo jacket on to shoot the first time.)
- If you are going to be hunting from a treestand, shoot from an elevated position.